Five years ago in January 2007 I was sitting in my dorm room on my first night at William Paterson all alone. There was a knock on my door at approximately 1am and my next door neighbor, Jay, was standing there asking me for a pair of scissors. I never did find out what he was doing with those scissors but that doesn’t matter now. From that night on myself, my roommate Liz, and Jay were inseparable. I would wake up everyday and immediately go into Jay’s room, that he never kept locked, and wake him up for class then every night I would stay up way too late making quesadillas or playing stupid card games or much more frequently, going to Wild Bull. Jay played rugby for Willy P and I met some of the best guys I know from that team and from the drink ups after matches. I’ve gone to the beach with him for a weekend every summer since I met him, and every year we came back with more and more stories to add to the library. Not a day goes that I’m not reminded of something we did together, or something funny he said… and not a day goes by when I don’t absolutely HAVE to tell him something. Jay and I have talked every day for the past five years. Yesterday, I got a phone call that changed my life forever. Jay’s girlfriend who happens to work with me, called me at about 12pm to tell me that Jay hadn’t been in contact with her all morning. I hadn’t gotten a text or a facebook comment yet either, which is very strange. At about 2pm Justine called me to tell me that Jay had passed away. A wave of denial immediately spread over me. There was no way that this could be happening. It wasn’t until I gave his mom a hug about an hour and a half later that it hit me, I would never see him again. I looked back on my text messages last night, all the way back until July, and realized that there will always be a hole in my heart were Jay belongs. He will always be a part of my life and will always be my best friend. Nothing and no one will ever replace the friendship we had. Last night when I finally fell asleep I dreamed that Jay was sleeping on the couch, when I woke up I was unable to separate reality from my dream and ran out to see if he was there. He wasn’t there snoring like he normally would be, but I actually believe he was there, he was with all of us last night hoping to give us a little piece of mind. Life will never, ever be the same but I wouldn’t trade the five years I had with him for anything in the world. Jay, I will never forget you as long as I live. You will always be the greatest friend I’ve ever had and you will be missed more then you could ever know.

2010

2009
2008
2007
